Pizza 1 Hangover 0

It’s been a few days since I last blogged, I blame the alcohol that was consumed over the weekend. The 2 day hangover is a clear sign that I’m getting older, but it was great seeing the guys again. I had them round for dinner on Friday. I made some of my ragu I previously blogged about with polenta and homemade bread. I tried adding mozarella to the cooked polenta along with butter, and the result was stringy, and just delicious.
As Thursday was Valentines Day, and Emily and my anniversary, we popped into Edinburgh for some lunch. We visited a small French cafe in the Grassmarket, it was a delight. I had the Terrine of the Day which was a lovely Red Deer and Fois Gras. I do not agree with the force feeding of animals, and would not knowingly order it, but it was delicious. Emily had Snails in a lovely garlic sauce to go along with endless French baguette and delicious red wine. We followed with a cheese board, so there we were with a selection of cheeses, bread and good French wine. It almost seemed like a religious act.

My Red Deer & Fois Gras Terrine. Delicious.

20130218-210941.jpg

Emily’s Snails

20130218-210952.jpg

The Holy Trinity

20130218-211004.jpg

To finally conquer the hangover I made some good old pizza tonight with pepperoni and basil. There is nothing better on this planet than eating freshly made pizza, the base perfectly crunchy and the cheese bubbling away; heavenly!

Traditional Pizze e pepperoni e basil, fantastico!

20130218-211056.jpg

Hoping that all of you have a week full of wonderful food to look forward. It’s going to be more cucina povera for me for the rest of the month, so stay tuned for simple recipes on a tight budget!

Happy eating everyone!

J

Leave a comment