Fish Fish Fish

I told you all that we bought a great deal of fish at the local supermarket last week, this was the result: a delicious livornese fish stew. My kitchen looked like a murder scene with all sorts of fish all over the place, but the end product was clean, crisp and packed full of flavour.
I don’t normally cook with fish as I often find filleting and boing them very tedious and one of my pet hates is finding a fish bone!
The base of this sauce consisted of chopped tomatoes, onions, garlic, carrots, celery, green pepper, white wine vinegar, chillies, sultanas and a great big bunch of herbs; dill and parsley. I just love combining all these ingredients together in the same pot over a few hours and adding the fish. I used Monkfish, salmon, whitebait and tilapia (a firm textured, white fleshed fish). These are a little bit different than the typical fish used in stews, but they were delicious and the different aromas given off from the different fish really combined well. Fish marries so well with both dill and parsley, and with a little kick from the chilli and sweetness from the sultanas this was dish bursting with flavour.
Overall, the stew was cooking for 2 hours before being served with polenta and some crunchy white bread. If only I could have enjoyed this looking out into the ocean. Some day soon perhaps?

20130306-184122.jpg

20130306-184131.jpg

As always I cannot wait to try this dish using different fish, a different base and different vegetables, so is the awesomeness of home cooking.

Have you cooked with different types of seafood recently? Would love to hear from you!

Happy Eating everyone

J

One thought on “Fish Fish Fish

Leave a comment